US Federal Prisons

US Federal Prisons

Click here for Federal Inmates Locator

The Federal Bureau of Prisons was established in 1930 to provide more progressive and humane care for Federal inmates, to professionalize the prison service, and to ensure consistent and centralized administration of the 11 Federal prisons in operation at the time.

Today, the Bureau consists of more than 106 institutions, 6 regional offices, a Central Office (headquarters), 2 staff training centers, and 28 community corrections offices. The regional offices and Central Office provide administrative oversight and support to Bureau facilities and community corrections offices. Community corrections offices oversee community corrections centers and home confinement programs.

The database includes all federal inmates from 1982 to present. The Bureau is responsible for the custody and care of approximately 185,000 Federal offenders. Approximately 85 percent of these inmates are confined in Bureau-operated correctional facilities or detention centers. The remainder are confined through agreements with state and local governments or through contracts with privately-operated community corrections centers, detention centers, prisons, and juvenile facilities.

Inmate Population
Inmate Breakdown
Sentence Imposed
Types of Offenses
Staff Breakdown
Staff By Gender